Most state parks have overnight camping accommodations. These range from basic campsites to full hook-up sites and roofed structures like yurts and platform tents.
Rules & safety
We want everyone spending time in our parks to be safe and have fun, so we have a few rules to ensure everyone is having a good time.
Campground check-in begins at 2:30 p.m. Check-out is at 1 p.m. Campers may enter parks until 10 p.m. Quiet hours are 10 p.m.- 6:30 a.m., unless otherwise noted at the park. Engine-driven electric generators may be operated only between 8 a.m. and 9 p.m.
From April 1 - Sept. 30, the maximum length of stay for the entire camping party in any one park is 10 days. From Oct. 1 - March 31, the maximum stay for the entire camping party is 20 days.
Campsites cannot be held for someone who might arrive later. One camping party is allowed per site, with a maximum of eight people per site. Smoking is not allowed inside vacation houses, yurts, cabins or other rustic structures.
Managing your garbage
Please use the trash cans and dumpsters to help keep parks clean. Recycling is encouraged in all Washington state parks. In parks with a pack-it-in/pack-it-out program, visitors must carry out everything they have brought in.
Respecting the environment
Do not touch, feed or harm wild animals. Do not pick or walk on plants and flowers. Always stay on designated roads, trails and campsites. All wildlife is protected.
All park buildings, signs and tables and other structures are also protected; removal or damage of any kind is prohibited.
Camping with pets and horses
Pets are allowed in most state parks, but must be under physical control at all times on a leash no more than eight feet long. Owners are responsible for cleaning up after their pets — that includes bagging and properly disposing of dog and horse poop. Pets are not permitted on designated swimming beaches.
Pets are not allowed inside vacation houses, but are permitted in designated yurts/cabins. Please check with the park for details.
Horses are allowed in designated areas only.
Glass bottles or metal cans are not allowed on swimming beaches. Alcoholic beverages are permitted only in designated campground and picnic areas.
Fireworks are prohibited on all state public lands, including state parks and beaches that front state park lands.
All Washington state laws are enforced in Washington state parks.
Popular parks with Camping
Getting started with Camping
Here at State Parks, we're always happy campers and we want you to be, too! So, to help out you first-time (and returning) campers, we have compiled answers to a few frequently asked questions to help get you started on what we hope will be a lifetime of great outdoor recreation adventures.
Arriving at the park
Check-in procedures vary by park. Check your confirmation letter or reminder email to see your check-in time.
Generally, you may check in at:
- Campsites and group sites at 2:30 p.m. and check-out at 1 p.m.
- Roofed accommodations (cabins, platform tents, teepees and yurts) at 4 p.m. and check-out at 11 a.m.
- Vacation houses at 4 p.m. and check-out at 11 a.m.
- Day-use facilities at 9 a.m. and check-out one hour before dark.
If you arrive early
Please arrive on or after your check-in time. This allows time for staff to clean and ensure your campsite or cabin is ready for your stay.
Also, please be considerate of other visitors who are already camping in your site. Don't wait outside other people’s campsites while you wait for your check-in time. If you do arrive early and have your Discover Pass, feel free to hang out in the day-use area of the park.
If you arrive late
If you arrive after hours and the gate is closed, you may enter through the gate by using the slider bar. Please close the gate after you enter the park and be sure to register the next morning. Note that quiet hours are 10 p.m. to 6 a.m.
If you do not show up for the first night of your stay
We consider your reservation a “no show” if you have not arrived by 1 p.m. the day following your scheduled arrival day. You will forfeit the cost of your entire stay. If you are arriving a day late, please call the park on or before your arrival date to let them know.
Campsite maximum visitors
A maximum of eight people can stay overnight at a campsite. We appreciate it if you can provide the exact number of people staying overnight with you when you check in so we know how many people are in the park.
Check the site description on the reservations website first to make sure there is room for an extra car or nearby parking is available. If there is, you can bring an extra car for overnight parking. We charge a $10 per night extra vehicle fee.
In the park
Many parks sell firewood. Please check the individual park web pages on the Washington State Parks website for more information. If firewood is not available for sale at the park, please purchase from a nearby business to prevent bringing in nuisance pests from other areas. Please do not cut trees or gather wood for firewood in the park.
Check for campfire burn ban information on the park's webpage before you leave. If a burn ban is in place, there are sometimes alternative fuel sources allowed. Burn bans are a fact of life during Washington summers and are not predictable. We do not provide refunds if a ban is in place.
Pets are allowed in campsites. All pets or domestic animals must be kept under physical control, on a leash no greater than eight feet in length — or otherwise physically restrained — at all times while in a state park area. Please clean up after your pet and keep pets out of designated swimming areas.
For roofed accommodations, pets are allowed in pet-friendly facilities only. Check our cabins and yurts and vacation rentals pages for more information.
Yes, you may have visitors. Day-use visitors to your site must have either an annual Discover Pass or a day-use pass. The cost of the pass is $30 for the annual pass and $10 for the day use pass, if purchased at the park. Visitors can park overnight for a $10 nightly fee as long as you do not exceed site capacity (i.e., no more than 8 persons per campsite). Check the site description for additional vehicle capacity or check with the park for other overnight parking options.
For more information
We hope this information helps. But if you have more questions, please contact our Information Center at (360) 902-8844, or email@example.com.
To book a campsite, make a reservation online: washington.goingtocamp.com
Map & visitor guide
Use the Find a Park Page to see maps and visitor guides for a specific park.