Fort Simcoe Historical State Park
Fort Simcoe is one of the few remaining pre-Civil War forts in the west. Military history buffs should put it on their bucket lists.
Located on the Yakama Indian Reservation, between rolling hills, small farms and tiny towns, the fort has a unique sense of remoteness - and a beauty that makes it worth the drive.
Once a Yakama Nation camping area, the rich, fertile region sparked discord between the tribes and Euro-American settlers, prompting the U.S Army to construct a fort there in 1856. Fort Simcoe's military history was short-lived, however. In 1859, the United States military fort was closed, and the site was turned over to the Bureau of Indian Affairs. It became the location of the Yakama Indian Agency, as well as home to an Indian boarding school for Yakama children for over 60 years (1860-1922).
Wander past the elegant officers' homes, the tribal jail and restored barracks (check hours of operation below under Interpretive Opportunities for access to the interpretive center and a tour of the Commander's Quarters). Hike a small hill to the original blockhouse (defense lookout) and take in the golden valley below. Try to spot a Lewis's woodpecker, as Fort Simcoe Park is a haven for this bird of a different feather.
Relax under a shade tree or have lunch in the picnic shelter near the playground. Keep an eye on your food, as bears have been known to enjoy the park, too.
Fort Simcoe Historical State Park is a 196-acre, day-use heritage site and is primarily a historic preservation effort. Due to its historic significance, Fort Simcoe was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in June 1974. Camping is available at Brooks Memorial and Yakima Sportsman state parks.
In 1956, Fort Simcoe was leased to Washington State Parks by the Yakama Nation on a 99-year lease for historic preservation.
Discover Pass: A Discover Pass is required for vehicle access to state parks for day use. For more information about the Discover Pass and exemptions, please visit the Discover Pass web page.
- Hiking trail
Use our interactive ADA recreation map to search for other state parks with ADA amenities and facilities.
Picnic & day-use facilities
The park provides four sheltered and 45 unsheltered picnic tables. Restrooms, running water, and ample parking are available.Tables are available on a first-come, first-served basis.
- 0.8 miles of hiking trails
Other activities & features
- Bird watching
- Horseshoe pits (4)
- House Museum (Commander's Quarters)
The interpretive center and the Commander's Quarters are closed.Tours of these buildings must be made by appointment in advance. Call (509) 874-2372 or (509) 925-1943 for more information or to book a tour.
The entire park is of interpretive value. Five original buildings are still standing at the fort, the commander's house, three captain's houses, and a blockhouse. Various other buildings have been recreated to appear original. The Commander's Quarters is filled with period furnishings.
- Fort Simcoe has large open grassy areas for baseball, football, softball and soccer. Bring your own equipment.
- Printable park brochure (PDF).
The Confederated Tribes and Bands of the Yakama Nation, as well as other neighboring tribes have used the park site as a gathering area since time immemorial. Its cold springs, called "Mool Mool" (bubbling water), offer an abundance of water in the otherwise dry region.
As conflicts increased between settlers and tribes in the Washington Territory, the military needed a post further north than Fort Dalles, Oregon. The camping area of Mool Mool was chosen and Fort Simcoe construction began Aug. 8, 1856, by companies G and F, Ninth Infantry, led by Maj. Robert Seldon Garnett.
The fort served as an advance post of the Ninth Infantry Regiment; one of the two regular army posts established in the territory. The other was Fort Walla Walla.
In 1859, this short-lived United States military fort was closed, and the site was turned over to the Bureau of Indian Affairs. It became the location of the Yakama Indian Agency, including a boarding school for Yakama children. The site served these functions until 1922, when the Indian Agency was moved to Toppenish.
The park was established in 1956 with the help of the Mool Mool Restoration Society and is under a 99-year lease agreement with the Yakama Nation.