Bridgeport State Park
Bridgeport State Park is closed temporarily due to storm damage. Please call (509) 686-7231 for more information.
Fishing, sagebrush and chill time: what more could a desert vacationer want?
Set directly behind Chief Joseph Dam on the Columbia River, Bridgeport State Park offers sunny fun on Rufus Woods Lake.
The lake, a reservoir of the Columbia River, is perfect for swimming, boating and year-round fishing. Walleye and rainbow trout practically leap from the lake, where most fishing is done by boat. Satisfied with your catch? Take the kids waterskiing, or go waterskiing yourself!
After an energetic day on the lake, take some hammock time and gaze at the orchards across the Columbia. Or poke around the north side of the park, where haystack volcanic formations are a reminder of the area's turbulent geology. Enjoy the high-desert landscape, including the scent of sage and the sight of bright lupine blooms.
The kids will enjoy the park's playground and seasonal Saturday interpretive programs offered by the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers. Chief Joseph Dam makes for an interesting side trip.
Bridgeport State Park is a 622-acre camping park with 7,500 feet of freshwater shoreline on Rufus Woods Lake. Set directly behind Chief Joseph Dam, the park provides 18 acres of lawn and a bit of shade in the midst of a desert terrain.
Discover Pass: A Discover Pass is required for vehicle access to state parks for day use. For more information about the Discover Pass and exemptions, please visit the Discover Pass web page.
- Picnic area
Use our interactive ADA recreation map to search for other state parks with ADA amenities and facilities.
Picnic & day-use facilities
The first-come, first-served day-use area provides 20 unsheltered picnic tables.
- 4 miles of hiking trails
Water activities & features
- 240 feet of dock
- Boat ramps (2)
- Fishing (freshwater)
- Personal watercraft use
Other activities & features
- Barbeque stands
- Bird watching
- Gazebos, sheltered (2)
- Wildlife viewing
Interpretive programs are provided by the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers. Subjects include the operation of Chief Joseph Dam, area wildlife and many other topics of local interest. Programs are usually on Saturdays during the summer season.
- Play area for children with a big toy.
- The lake is abundant in rainbow trout, silvers and walleye. Fishing is open year round. Most fishing is by boat. Shore fishing requires a Colville Tribe fishing license in addition to a state license if fishing off of state park property. Colville Tribe fishing licenses can be purchased at the park or in the cities of Bridgeport or Brewster.
- A recreational license is required for fishing and shellfish harvesting at Washington state parks. For regulations, fishing season information, or to purchase a recreational license, visit the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife.
- Printable park brochure (PDF).
Located in Okanogan County on Columbia River, Bridgeport provides two watercraft launches and 240 feet of dock. Launching a boat at a state park requires one of the following:
- An annual launch permit (Natural Investment Permit; or
- An annual Discover Pass and a daily launch permit; or
- A one-day Discover Pass and a daily launch permit. Annual permits may be purchased at State Parks Headquarters in Olympia, at region offices, online and at parks when staff is available. Additional information can be found in the Boating Program.
Latitude: 48º 0' 41.4" N (48.0115)
Longitude: 119º 37' 20.99" W (-119.6225)
The park provides 14 tent spaces, 20 water and electric sites, one dump station, two restrooms (both ADA) and two showers. Maximum site length is 45 feet (limited availability). The campground is situated on a lawn with many shade trees. Most facilities are modern.
Check-in time is 2:30 p.m.
Check-out time is 1 p.m.
The park offers a group camp that accommodates 20 to 72 people. Fees vary with size of the group.
Reservations & fees
Services & supplies
Lakewoods Golf Course is located in the park. It is a 9-hole course. Call (509) 686-5721 for rates and details.
A park plaque honors Mr. Ralph Van Slyke who, with the most common garden tools, cut a park in the valley above Chief Joseph Dam in the early 1960s. Van Slyke was a retired employee of the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers.
The park was named for the town of Bridgeport, which from 1881 to 1889 was known as Westfield. In 1889, Mr. J. Covert, a citizen of Bridgeport, Connecticut, came west to survey a railroad route and renamed Westfield after his hometown.
The park was created as part of a cooperative agreement between Washington State Parks and the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers. The Corps is involved in park-building because of an operating agreement for dams which requires the corps to rebuild recreation areas.