Exemptions

Boaters born before Jan. 1, 1955, do not need a card. Other boaters may not be required to have a Boater Education Card. Please see below for additional information.

Other Exemption Conditions

Operators of commercial fishing boats must have a valid commercial license or a Boater Education Card when operating a recreational vessel.

Operators with a valid U.S. Coast Guard (USCG) marine operator license must carry either the USCG license or a card when operating a recreational vessel.

Operators of government vessels exempt from state registration do not need a card when operating a government vessel, but they must have a card when operating a recreational vessel.

Operators of rented, leased or chartered vessels must have a copy of the State Parks-approved educational checklist or a card.

A person of any age practicing or engaging in a permitted racing event: A card is not needed as long as the event is permitted and permitting document is available for inspection at site of event.

An operator who is a resident of another state or country (with or without a valid card from that state or country): Card is not needed the first 60 consecutive days. After this, must have Washington state Boater Education Card.

A person purchasing a vessel: For the first 60 days after purchasing a vessel, the bill of sale showing date of purchase is valid in lieu of a card.

Operators ages 12 years and older without a card must be under the direct supervision of a person who is 16 years of age or older who has a Boater Education Card, unless exempt based on the conditions mentioned elsewhere.

There are more safety variables on the water than on highways: weather, waves, tides and currents, water levels, large boat traffic and other concerns that you need to be aware of before going out on the water.

Always remember to swim and boat only when sober, wear a life jacket when boating in open water, follow the "rules of the road," and most importantly, have fun! For more information, visit

www.boatered.org

Connect with us on social media

Lwitter. www.twitter.com/WAStatePks

facebook

www.facebook.com/WashingtonStateParks

www.youtube.com/WashingtonStateParks

Share your stories and photos: Adventure Awaits.com



If you would like to support Washington State Parks even more, please consider making a donation when renewing your license plate tabs. You also may place a check in a donation box when you visit state parks.

Donations are a significant part of the State Parks budget and are needed to keep your parks open and operating. Thank you, and enjoy. For more info, visit www.parks.wa.gov/donations/

Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission

P.O. Box 42650 Olympia, WA 98504-2650 (360) 902-8500 www.parks.wa.gov

Commission members:

Ken Bounds Mark O. Brown Patricia T. Lantz Steve S. Milner Douglas Peters Rodger Schmitt

Lucinda S. Whaley Agency director: Don Hoch

All Washington state parks are developed and maintained for the enjoyment of all people.

To request this brochure in an alternative format, please call (360) 902-8844 or the Washington Telecommunications Relay Service at (800) 833-6388. P&R 45-15500-36 (08/17)

WASHINGTON STATE PARKS

Mandator Educoni



www.parks.state.wa.us

Mandatory Boating Safety Education for Washington Boaters

The Washington State Mandatory
Boating Safety Education law requires
boaters ages 12 years and older to
take and pass a boating safety course
or equivalency exam and get the Washington Boater Education Card before
operating a motorized vessel of 15
horsepower or greater.

How to qualify for a card

Take a course approved by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) and the Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission. Courses available include:

- Hands-on training course
- Classroom course
- Home-study course
- Online course

Boaters who already have a lot of boating experience may take an equivalency exam. For more information, visit www.BoaterEd.org or call (360) 902-8555.

How to get a card

After completing an approved course or exam and receiving your completion certificate, you must complete the Boater Education Card Application.

- 1. Get the application form online at www.boatered.org.
- 2. Fill out the application and make a copy of your course completion certificate.
- 3. Send the application, a copy of your course completion certificate along with a check or money order for \$10 to the address given on the application.

Note: Once your application and supporting documents are mailed, it takes approximately three to four weeks to receive your card.

Cost of the card

Columbia River

- The initial cost is \$10. The card is good for a lifetime unless you lose your card or need to change your name or other information.
- When taking an online course: Cards purchased from online course providers may be subject to an additional handling fee.



• A replacement card is \$5.
Get the replacement application form online at www.boatered.org.

Always carry your card

The fine for not having your card is \$99. Check with the local marine law enforcement agency if you have any questions regarding state or local regulations.

