News Release 12-035
Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission
1111 Israel Road S.W., P.O. Box 42650, Olympia, WA 98504-2650, (360) 902-8500
Don Hoch, Director
Sandy Mealing, State Parks: (360) 902-8559
Stet Palmer, friends group: (360) -789-9953
Peter Herzog, State Parks: (360) 902-8652
Wash. Telecommunications Relay Service: (800) 833-6388
State Parks and friends group hold grassroots Discover Pass sales events
April 25, 2012 –
The Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission and the Friends of Schafer and Lake Sylvia State Parks today announced grassroots sales events for the Discover Pass in Grays Harbor and Mason counties, beginning this weekend.
Staff and volunteers will be on hand to sell the $30 annual Discover Pass at the following locations:
• Saturday and May 5 and 12: 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. at Pick Rite Thriftway store, 211 E Pioneer Ave., Montesano
• May 5 and 6: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. at Old Timer’s Fair, M. Knight School, 2987 West Matlock Brady Road, Elmaa
The Discover Pass, which is now transferable between two vehicles, allows visitors to enjoy millions of acres of Washington state-managed recreation lands, including state parks, water-access points, heritage sites, wildlife and natural areas, trails and trailheads.
The pass must be displayed on vehicles when visiting recreation lands managed by Washington State Parks, the Washington State Department of Natural Resources and the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife. The 2011 Legislature created the pass to help replace general fund tax money no longer available to cover the costs to operate state-managed recreation lands.
“Washington state parks are a treasure, and we all need to do our part to help keep them available for generations to come,” said Gregory Johnson, president of the friends group. “We hope the public will come out and show their support by purchasing a Discover Pass.”
The agency and the State Parks Foundation are enlisting friends groups throughout the state to help sustain Washington’s state parks during this critical season.
In addition to these special sales events, the Discover Pass may be purchased:
• In person from nearly 600 recreational license vendors where state fishing and hunting licenses are sold.
• Online at www.discoverpass.wa.gov
• By phone (866) 320-9933
• When renew vehicle licenses (passes will be mailed by the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife and should arrive between 7 to 10 business days after the date of purchase.)
• At State Parks headquarters and region offices, and at state parks when staff is available.
Stay connected to your state parks by following Washington State Parks at www.facebook.com/WashingtonStateParks, www.twitter.com/WaStatePks_NEWS and www.youtube.com/WashingtonStateParks.
The Commission manages a diverse system of more than 100 state parks and recreation programs, including long-distance trails, boating safety and winter recreation. The 99-year-old park system will celebrate its 100th anniversary in 2013.