News Release 11-002
Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission
1111 Israel Road S.W., P.O. Box 42650, Olympia, WA 98504-2650, (360) 902-8500
Don Hoch, Director
Susan Kavanaugh, (360) 902-8847 Susan.firstname.lastname@example.org
Linh Hoang, (360) 902-8837 Linh.email@example.com
Wash. Telecommunications Relay Service: (800) 833-6388
Washington boaters urged to take boating safety class
Jan. 5, 2011 –
The Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission and boating safety leaders urge boaters to take a boating safety course and get their card this winter.
Boater safety education is required by law in Washington state. In 2011, all boaters under age 35 are required to take a boating safety course and get their boater safety card. By 2014, the safety course and card will be required for everyone born after 1954.
"Every year an average of 25 people die in boating accidents in Washington and many more are injured and boats are damaged or destroyed," said Lake Stevens Police Chief Randy Celori, who serves as chair of the State Parks Boating Safety Advisory Council.
"Boater safety education can help prevent boaters from getting into an accident and increase their chances of survival if they are involved in an accident," said Clallam County Sheriff Bill Benedict, also a member of the Boating Safety Council.
There are many ways to take a boater education course. Boaters can choose to take it in a classroom, online, hands-on or through a home study booklet. There also is an equivalency exam for experienced boaters. Once the boater has completed the course or exam, he or she needs to complete an application and pay just $10 for a Boater Safety Card that is good for a lifetime.
"Currently, more than 68,000 boaters have their Boater Safety Education Card," said George Harris, Northwest Marine Trade Association president.
Within the next three years, State Parks boating program staff estimate that more than 200,000 additional boaters will need to take a boating safety class and get the card to meet the legal requirement.
The best time to take a course and get the card is during the winter. More classes are offered and boaters have time before boating season opens to complete the class, take the test and order the card. Boaters cited for not having the card face an $87 fine.
"Waiting until boating season could mean a delay in getting your card. The Washington State Parks Boating Safety Program usually gets a flood of applications the first few days of spring," said Washington State Parks Director Don Hoch. "It will save time and frustration if boaters do it now, during the winter."
To apply for the boater card or for more information on safety classes, visit www.boatered.org or call (360) 902-8555.
The Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission thanks the public for supporting state parks. Donations made to State Parks through the vehicle license tab renewal program will keep state parks open in the 2009-2011 budget cycle, provided adequate revenues are collected.
The Commission manages a diverse system of more than 100 state parks and recreation programs, including long-distance trails, boating safety and winter recreation. The 98-year-old park system will celebrate its 100th anniversary in 2013.
Washington State Parks is now on Twitter at WaStatePks_NEWS and YouTube at WashingtonStateParks.